top of page


Birmingham Alumnae Chapter, originally named Tau Sigma Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority in Birmingham, AL, was chartered on May 28, 1931. The Charter was presented by Soror Minerva Hawkins, Southern Regional Director, under the leadership of our fourth National President, Soror Anna Johnson Julian. Soror Ollie Diffay Tate applied for the Charter. In 1956, Tau Sigma Chapter became Birmingham Alumnae Chapter when the nomenclature of all graduate chapters was changed.

We continue to carry the torch of Scholarship, Sisterhood, and Service in our communities.

Charter Members:
Soror Marion Kennon Bradford ΩΩ

Soror Alice McCarroll Wilson Ω Ω

Soror Wardell Parish Robinson ΩΩ

Soror Carolyn Welton Stewart ΩΩ

Soror Ollie Diffay Tate ΩΩ

Soror Preston Merry ΩΩ

Soror Miriam Price Jones ΩΩ

bottom of page